Fruits and Nuts

My knitting lately seems to be fruit-themed.

I’m knitting a friend’s daughter a graduation present.  It’s the Calypso Shrug / Shoulder Wrap from Sock Yarn One-Skein Wonders.

Recipient recently was heard saying orange and brights were her new favorite, so instead of sock yarn, I’m using what I could find in that color range: Nazli Gelin Garden.  It’s lace weight, so I’m doubling the yarn and using size 8 needles, as well as adding an extra pattern repeat.  I’ve never knitted with mercerized cotton before and it’s interesting.

Because of the color and the fact it’s a wrap, I’m calling it the Orange Peel.

I just finished a hooded bath blanket (Reynolds Blossom 82244 pattern) and some washcloths to go with it, for a couple at church who had a baby.

It’s in Lion Brand Cotton Ease.  The colorway?  Lime, of course.

Also, I finally spent my sister’s gift certificate from Christmas to the LYS.  I bought a skein of Noro Taiyo Sock which I’ve cast on for Citron.  It keeps calling to me, even though I’ve got to get the Orange Peel done by June 11.

They’re good to alternate, especially since the Citron is up to 348 stitches per row.

The Nuts Part

Tomorrow is the last day with students before summer break.  I predict lots of extra recess and videos.

Too bad they won’t let me wear my fun new t-shirt.

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting

One response to “Fruits and Nuts

  1. Ha ha, love that T-shirt!!

Leave a Reply

