The Last Time I Checked, I Was Still a Librarian

j0439414I checked and I haven’t blogged about books since July 2008.  Oops.  I’ve been reading more than blogging since then, so I won’t mention everything I’ve read (don’t wanna bore you), but some highlights. 

I should mention that some things I read in print and some on audio.  I rarely buy books full price.  I usually get them from the library (duh), download from my Audible membership, or pick them up here and there really cheap.  We have a Half Price Books nearby now, so I’m thrilled about that.  I love the $1.00 clearance section!

Kid Stuff

Mysteries

  • The Widow’s Tale and others by Margaret Frazer:  Set in medieval England, they’re not as good as the Brother Cadfael ones by Ellis Peters, but they bring the period to life.
  • The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie:  Typical English mystery; they’ve had Miss Marple on the local PBS station, motivating me to pick up a few of that series.
  • The Eye of Jade by Diane Wei Liang: Set in today’s Beijing, an interesting look at current Chinese society along with a mystery.
  • The Transcendental Murder by Jane Langton: The first in the Homer Kelly series, it is a bit dated, but extremely funny. [Note: Laura, you would probably like it as it is set in your old stomping ground and features an literature professor.]
  • Thread of Deceit by Catherine Palmer: An “inspirational/Christian fiction” book; I could see the bad guy from a mile away, but the main characters are interesting and it’s a nice love story.
  • The Bordeaux Betrayal by Ellen Crosby: Third in a series set in the wine country of Virginia, this one mixes in some history involving Thomas Jefferson.
  • Sound Tracks by Marcia Simpson:  A mystery set in the panhandle of Alaska.  Well, the mystery part isn’t all that mysterious, but it’s got interesting characters and is very atmospheric.  I think I would have liked this one even better in print as I thought the narrator wasn’t the best.

History / Travel

  • The Loyalists by Christopher Moore: More Nova Scotia / New Brunswick history.
  • The Man Who Loved China by Simon Winchester: An interesting biography of Joseph Needham, who, as the title indicates, was a great adventurer and scholar of China.
  • Shadow of the Silk Road by Colin Thubron: An intreped Brit treks along the route of the former Silk Road; bet you didn’t know much about Kyrgyzstan either.
  • Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell: To say that the author traced the sites associated with three presidential assassinations sounds boring — in reality this book is an absolute hoot and packed with interesting anecdotes.  It’s best in audio as she has a unique voice and does her own narration (Sarah Vowell was also the voice of Violet in The Incredibles). 
  • The Passport by Martin Lloyd: A history and anecdotal treatment of passports.  Again, it doesn’t sound like the most exciting book, but it pulls in the attempt to assassinate Napoleon III, Machiavelli, forgery, and spies.
  • Inventing Niagara by Ginger Strand: A little heavy on the environmental message, but full of stuff you never knew about Niagara Falls.

42-16022395

I also read a couple of Brit Lit titles:  Starburst by Robin Pilcher (Rosamunde Pilcher’s son), which is set in Edinburgh, Scotland, and Whitethorn Woods by Maeve Binchy, set in Ireland.

I have got to blog more frequently — catching up takes way too long!

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “The Last Time I Checked, I Was Still a Librarian

  1. Jenny

    please inform of the location of the lovely library pictured above…..

  2. Ariadne

    Jen,

    That would be the Clip Art Branch of the Microsoft City Library.

Leave a Reply

