Seeing Red

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve trained my mum well to bring me yarn from wherever she and my dad go in their retirement travels.  Last February they spent a month in Gulf Shores, Alabama, (pre-oil spill) avoiding the Indiana winter, and brought me back some great Berocco Seduce in a brilliant red.  I finally got it knitted up into a fun little scarf.

Sorry for the poor lighting, it’s done on the Mac PhotoBooth cam.

So when I wore my new scarf this past week, I was haunted by the phrase “red scarf girl” and the idea that somewhere in the recesses of my brain there was a link with that phrase to some sort of totalitarian control of young people.   Not surprisingly, librarian brains pick up all sorts of weird phrases and links, usually having to do with books.  A little investigation revealed that, yes, it was a book.

It’s the story of Ji-Li Jiang’s experiences as a teenager during the Cultural Revolution and her journey from a follower of Chairman Mao into a thoughtful person who questions the dictates of power.

Then, just a couple of days later, Kay of Mason-Dixon posted about her contribution to the Red Scarf Project.  If I got some bulky yarn maybe I could get another red scarf whipped out before December 15.

Since they’re everywhere, you know.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Knitting

Leave a Reply

