A Whole Lotta Knitting Going On

I realize that there has been little knitting content to this blog (red scarves excluded) since my July post on the startitis attack.  In the intervening four months some of the started items were actually finished, believe it or not.

The baby vest, for one:

Never mind that the baby shower for this boy was postponed until after the teacher’s maternity leave, leaving the kid too big for it.  She wanted a diapers-and-formula-shower anyway.  I’ll save it for someone who would like a handknit baby vest — people are always having babies.

The mystery project in Berocco Vintage Wool turned out to be a birthday scarf for my friend Anita.

It’s Linda O’Leary’s Waterfall Scarf pattern from 101 Designer One-Skein Wonders.

The other mystery project in Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in the Huron colorway was supposed to be a birthday hat for beautiful Bella’s second birthday.  The colorway just didn’t work together well in a hat, especially one that small.  So I ended up using Mountain Colors Twizzle in the Copper Mountain colorway for a hat for Bella.  Which I’d have a picture of if Bella’s mama would ever take one.  Which I keep reminding her to do . . .

Minor digression.  Anyway, what to do with the Huron?

Well, I liked Anita’s Waterfall Scarf so much that I made one for myself.  Again the lighting with the webcam leaves a lot to be desired, but you can see the scarf at least.

I also turned the Jojoland Melody into a scarf.

It’s the Tesla pattern by Deb Barnhill.  I think I’ll call it the Violet scarf, both because it contains purple and because that’s the name of the only student I ever had ask me for a book on Nikola Tesla!

In the, ahem, unfinished department, I still have the One Skein Tank Top and the Print O’the Wave Stole.  The tank top is boring me with all that stockinette stitch and the stole is going to take more brain power than I usually have after a school day.  Maybe it is more of a vacation knitting thing.

Finally, two other projects.  As I mentioned, people are always having babies.  So here’s a baby dress for a friend.

After three boys she’s having a girl, and I figured she could do with moderately frilly stuff.

Lastly, I’m bribing bartering Lacy with a pair of The Wave Handwarmers from One Skein Wonders.

It’s Noro Silk Garden and the art teacher in her loves that they don’t match.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

