Pack It Up

  • The car got a once-over by the Honda guys.
  • The suitcase is (almost completely) packed.
  • The cooler and snack box are packed.
  • The iTunes and audiobooks and podcasts are loaded.
  • The Garmin has a new voice.
  • I have my passport.
  • The car is washed.
  • I have cash for tolls.
  • I have hostess gifts.
  • The cat-sitter is lined up.
  • I need ice, breakfast, and coffee in the morning.

T minus twelve hours and counting.

One of my absolute favorite poems:

Travel ~ Edna St. Vincent Millay

The railroad track is miles away,
And the day is loud with voices speaking,
Yet there isn’t a train goes by all day
But I hear its whistle shrieking.

All night there isn’t a train goes by,
Though the night is still for sleep and dreaming,
But I see its cinders red on the sky,
And hear its engine steaming.

My heart is warm with friends I make,
And better friends I’ll not be knowing;
Yet there isn’t a train I wouldn’t take,
No matter where it’s going.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Pack It Up

  1. yarnsmith

    That’s a great poem. See you after 3 sleeps!

Leave a Reply

