Mud. And Yarn. Not Together.

Mud

Monday I had my first pedicure ever.  Met a friend for lunch and she wanted to get a manicure and pedicure after.  Wow!  Felt great.

So what to do immediately following?  Work parking cars at the county fair, of course.  In the mud and rain.

My dad used to drag us around the state fair in a little red wagon.  Not in mud like this, though.

We need outfits like this for car rider duty at school, I think.  Not that the parents would follow my directions any better, but at least they couldn’t claim not to see me.

Yarn

My parents recently got back from an Alaska cruise to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary.  (The anniversary is in December, but who goes to Alaska then?)  My wonderful mother has this darling habit (I’ve trained her well) of bringing me souvenir yarn from places they go.  No exception this trip.

Two skeins from The Rushin’ Tailor in Skagway.

Both are Rabbit Ridge Designs, one in chenille (colorway: Earth), and one in alpaca/silk/merino (colorway: Fire).

Now, I’m not normally one to go in for chenille.  I love my natural fibers.  But, the colors in this just grabbed hold of me and wouldn’t let go.  My parents got back Saturday.  Sunday afternoon I wound the yarn.

(Note the quilting waiting in the background.  I knew the sewing kick wouldn’t last long.)

And within a week I had an Indian Cross Scarf from 101 Designer One-Skein Wonders.

I think the pattern worked really well with this yarn.  I love how the chenille lies flat and I love how it feels.  It will be just the thing to brighten up a cold winter school building!

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

