The Story of Stinky

This is Ben.

When Ben’s mother was expecting him, his family went to church with me and I knitted him a blanket.  Then his family moved away.

They came back to visit Sunday and Ben is now three.  His mum says he never goes anywhere without his blanket.  He calls it Stinky.  I said this makes sense if he never goes anywhere without it.

That blanket has been to London and Paris with Ben.  It’s better traveled than I am.  It’s nice to know that even if I haven’t been to the City of Lights my handiwork has.  [If one can’t be sneered at in person by the French, at least one’s knitting can be.]

It’s also nice to know that even though Ben doesn’t remember me, he still has a little piece of my love with him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

